Lok Sabha polls: Voting underway for 121 constituencies in 12 states

Election Update
New Delhi,Polling for 10 Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh under the second-phase election in the state began Thursda to decide the fate of 142 candidates, including 11 woman.The polling began at 7 AM in Morena, Bhind, Gwalior, Guna, Sagar, Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Bhopal and Rajgarh Lok Sabha constituencies, official sources said.

The fate of number of prominent candidates including Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia (from Guna), state BJP unit president Narendra Singh Tomar from Gwalior, former minister and ex-Prime Minister Atal Bihar
i Vajpayee's nephew Anoop Mishra (Morena) and former IAS officer Dr Bhagirath Prasad, who joined BJP a day after getting Congress ticket from Bhind, will be sealed in the EVMs during the day-long polling.Besides, other prominent faces in fray include former Union Minister Prahlad Patel (from Damoh), former minister Nagendra Singh (Khajuraho) and Rajgarh sitting MP Narayan Singh Amlabe, who is considered close to Congress General Secretary Digvijay Singh.The polling will be held till 6 PM, a measure taken by the Election Commission for the first time in the electoral history of the country to enhance voting percentage, specially during summers.Earlier, the polling used to close at 5 PM, except in few constituencies where it got over earlier also because of number of problems.A total of 1,67,12,806 voters will exercise their right to franchise in the 10 constituencies where polling is being held on 18,796 booths.For conducting polls in a free and fair manner, the Election Commission has deployed 1.20 lakh poll staff and adequate number of central and state police forces, specially in dacoit-infested Chambal region.The third and final phase of polling in Madhya Pradesh on remaining ten seats will be held on April 24. Under the first-phase, polling was held in nine constituencies on April 10.
Next Post »