Medal Winners of RIO Olympics/Paralympics 2016 receive cash award from Sports Minister Vijay Goel

Jaipur,Cash award distribution function was held in New Delhi on today for medal winners of Rio Olympics/Paralympics, 2016. Vijay Goel, Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs and Sports was the chief guest. In his address, the sports Minister assured the people about the commitment of his government towards the promotion and development of the sports in the country. He assured the all medal winner sportspersons that government would leave no stone unturned in promoting and supporting the all sports in the country.   Shri Vijay Goel presented the cash awards.  Amount of cash awards is as follows:   Shri Mariyappan Thangavelu (Gold in High Jump), - 75 Lakhs.  Devendra Jhajharia From Rajasthan (Gold in Javelin Throw) – 75 Lakhs Ms. P.V. Sindhu (Silver in Badminton) – Rs. 50 Lakhs. Ms. Deepa Malik (Silver in Shot Put) – Rs. 50 Lakhs Ms. Sakshi Malik (Bronze in Wrestling) – Rs. 30 Lakhs Shri Varun Singh Bhati (Bronze in High Jump) – Rs. 30 Lakhs  Cash awards were distributed under the Government of India (Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports)’s scheme of special awards to medal winners in international sports events. Ms. P.V. Sindhu and Ms. Sakshi Malik could not participate in the event as they are busy with their national / international competitions. On behalf of Sakshi Malik her father received the award.
Next Post »