DU Colleges to Admit Students to Three Year Undergraduate Programme from the Year 2014-15 – HRD Minister Smriti Irani

New Delhi,The UGC has written to all the colleges under the University of Delhi for complying with the directives issued by the UGC and ensuring that colleges admit students at undergraduate level for academic year 2014-15 only to the 3 year undergraduate programme which was offered prior to introduction of FYUP. This information was given by the Union HRD Minister Smt. Smriti Irani in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today. 

The Minister has informedfurther stated that the UGC had constituted an Advisory Committee comprising five eminent academics and chaired by Prof S.K. Joshi. The Report of the Committee constituted by UGC, along with information furnished by the University of Delhi on 28th May, 2014, was considered by the Commission in its 501st Meeting held on 13th June, 2014. The Commission, while observing that the FYUP was a deviation from the pattern of 10+2+3 structure enshrined in the National Policy on Education (NPE), also observed that the ordinances affecting the departure from the established national pattern did not have the approval of the competent authority. In view of the same, the Commission decided to issue an advisory to the University of Delhi to review the continuation of FYUP. This advisory was issued by UGC to University of Delhi on 16th June, 2014. 

The Commission, after taking into consideration the various developments issued directives in the larger interest of the students. It also ensured that they are not put under any undue hardship because of the said deviation. The fact that the FYUP introduced by the University of Delhi would not create complications for the students who are going to opt for migration in other universities since all other universities follow a system of three-years undergraduate education for general degree programmes and in the exercise of powers conferred under section 12 of the UGC Act, 1956, the Commission issued the following directive to the University of Delhi on 20th June, 2014: 

(i) The admissions for the academic year 2014-15 and the subsequent academic years in the University of Delhi (including the constituent and other colleges under it) for the general undergraduate programmes shall be made in the three year structure which was prevalent in the University of Delhi prior to introduction of FYUP; 

(ii) Appropriate arrangement shall be made by the University of Delhi for students, already admitted in the academic year 2013-14 in the FYUP, to migrate to the three year undergraduate programme structure so that they do not lose an academic year for obtaining undergraduate degrees, and for this purpose, ensure that students acquire necessary academic and other competences during the next two academic years; 

(iii) Take all other steps as may be necessary to adhere to the 3-year undergraduate programme as envisaged under the 10+2+3 structure under the NPE 1986, while ensuring that students are facilitated through the process of transacting the curriculum under the 10+2+3 structure. 

The University of Delhi has also reported that the Academic Council of University of Delhi has decided to replace, with effect from the academic year 2014-15, the syllabi/scheme of examination under the FYUP with scheme/syllabi which was in existence in 2012-13. 
Next Post »